Home / Workplace Directory / Announcing the 2009-2010 Ron Pambrun Scholarship

Announcing the 2009-2010 Ron Pambrun Scholarship

Applications are now being accepted for the 2009-2010 Ron Pambrun Scholarship.

This award, worth up to $4000 over four years, was created by NABET in the 1980s to honour the memory of Ron Pambrun, one of the founding members and builders of NABET in Canada. Until his passing in 1984 Ron was an active and committed unionist. The Canadian Media Guild took over administration of the award in 2004.

The purpose of the award is to encourage academic excellence and the pursuit of higher education among the children of Canadian Media Guild members. One new scholarship is offered annually on a competitive basis.

The selection of the scholarship winner is determined by the Pambrun family based on academic achievement. The Canadian Media Guild has no influence in choosing the winner.

The Ron Pambrun Scholarship is valued at one thousand dollars per year. The award is renewable for up to three subsequent years, or until the award holder obtains a first undergraduate degree, whichever comes first, on the condition that the scholar maintain satisfactory academic progress.

– When a scholar is taking undergraduate courses prior to studies for a first professional degree such as law, medicine, education, etc., the award holder may qualify for each year of the qualifying program plus the following year(s) towards the professional degree itself. In no event will the scholarship be paid beyond the maximum of four consecutive academic years.


All children, including adopted children, stepchildren and wards in legal guardianship of current, retired or deceased members of the Canadian Media Guild are eligible to apply for the scholarship.

– Applicants must be entering or enrolled in a full-time program at a qualifying institution in the year of application.

– The scholarship is tenable at all Canadian educational institutions which have provincial degree granting powers, or their affiliates, and at recognized Canadian university transfer colleges.

– There are no restrictions on the program of study or discipline selected by the applicant, provided that courses taken satisfy degree requirements.

Applicants must have completed the secondary-level course work required for admission to the qualifying institution of their choice, and must have obtained a minimum academic standing of C+ (or equivalent) in their final-year courses.

– Applicants must be prepared to accept the scholarship in the year in which it is awarded; no deferrals are allowed.

– Candidates who graduate from high school/CEGEP in June would make application for the scholarship in the year of graduation. Candidates who graduate in December would make application for the scholarship in the year following graduation. Students who have commenced their post-secondary studies in January are eligible for the competition in the same calendar year.

– All candidates are responsible for ensuring that official transcripts showing the results for all courses in their last year of high school or CEGEP are sent to the Guild as soon as possible. If a candidate has written provincial exams he/she should ask the provincial or territorial Ministry of Education to forward an official transcript to the Guild to ensure receipt as soon as the transcript is available.

Students who have already started full-time studies toward an undergraduate degree or diploma should send transcripts from the previous academic year.

– The scholarship winner is completely responsible for making arrangements for, and meeting requirements of, admission to the post secondary institution of his/her choice.

– There is no limit to the number or value of other awards which scholarship winners may hold.

Payment of the scholarship and renewal:

The award winner must submit proof of registration at the qualifying institution of his/her choice for the scholarship to become payable. Upon confirmation, the Guild will forward payment directly to the educational institution on the scholar’s behalf.

– Award holders must maintain a full time course of study that satisfies the degree requirements in each year of their program.

– It is the obligation of award holders to maintain satisfactory academic progress while holding the award. This means that students must successfully complete their academic year, passing all courses, in order to be considered for renewal. Grades or marks obtained in supplementary or repeated examinations in the same academic year, including summer sessions, will be considered. The Guild will exercise reasonable discretion in the consideration of other circumstances that may affect a scholar’s academic performance.

– Students must arrange to provide the Guild with official transcripts at the end of each academic year.

Application procedure:

To apply for the scholarship, click here to download the application package, which contains forms for the applicant as well as for an official of the school attended by the applicant in 2008/09. The deadline for receipt of application forms is 5 pm (Eastern Time) on Tuesday, June 30; transcripts must be submitted at the same time, or follow as soon as possible. The award selection will be made and announced during the summer.

If you have any questions about the scholarship or the application process please contact Keith Maskell at keith@cmg.ca or call the CMG national office at 1-800-465-4149 or 416-591-5333.

Find Member Resources

Popular Topics

Scroll to Top