Home / Workplace Directory / Canadian Media Guild / Election of CMG delegates to upcoming Biennial CWA Convention

Election of CMG delegates to upcoming Biennial CWA Convention

As of end of nomination period yesterday, 17 members have been nominated to contend for a position as a Canadian Media Guild (CMG) delegate to the CWA Convention in Las Vegas, Nevada, July 29-31, 2019.

With this number of nominees, an election has been triggered to determine those who will serve as official CMG delegates.

Prior to the close of nominations, CMG’s National Executive Committee (NEC) determined that nine (9) delegates would be sent, in addition to CMG President Kamala Rao, to represent our union Local at this gathering.

The Communications Workers of America (CWA) Convention will connect our union Local, CMG, with our fellow union locals and union members across North America, including other journalists and media workers based at media organizations across Canada and the United States, all under the banner of CWA. Delegates will have an opportunity to share information, build solidarity, and strategize on matters of mutual concern.

All CMG members in good standing can vote for up to nine candidates.

The vote will be held online from Thursday, June 27 at 9 a.m. ET to Tuesday, July 2 at midnight ET

The candidates to serve as CMG delegates to the CWA Convention are:

Nathalie Bastien CBC/Radio-Canada Ottawa
Carrie (May) Bradshaw CBC/Radio-Canada Toronto
Neil Herland CBC/Radio-Canada Toronto
Nadia Jannif CBC/Radio-Canada Vancouver
Hyungwon Kang Thomson-Reuters Toronto
Jordanna Lake CBC/Radio-Canada Toronto
Natasha MacDonald-Dupuis CBC/Radio-Canada Toronto
Khaleel Mohammed CBC/Radio-Canada Toronto
Charlotte Morritt-Jacobs APTN Yellowknife
Christine Peloquin CBC/Radio-Canada Toronto
Trent Peppler CBC/Radio-Canada Regina
Bob Sharpe CBC/Radio-Canada St. John’s
Jonathan Spence CBC/Radio-Canada Toronto
Trevor Squires CBC/Radio-Canada Yellowknife
Charmaine Straker APTN Winnipeg
Kim Trynacity CBC/Radio-Canada Edmonton
Gerry Whelan Freelance Branch Halifax

Candidate profiles will be posted on www.cmg.ca as they are provided, and voting instructions will be provided next week.

In order to vote, you’ll need your nine-digit CMG member number. If you don’t have your number, please write to CMG staffer Glenn Seymour at vote@cmg.ca and he’ll get your number to you right away. You can also call during business hours at 1-800-465-4149 or 416-591-5333.

The results of the vote will be released as quickly as possible after the polls close.

Find Member Resources

Popular Topics

Scroll to Top