Home / Workplace Directory / Canadian Media Guild / Exchange ideas on the future of the North American media industry

Exchange ideas on the future of the North American media industry

The CMG’s international media sector, The Newspaper Guild-CWA, is hosting a “Future of the Industry” conference for Guild leaders January 10 to 12, 2009, in Baltimore.? It is expected to be a wide-ranging forum exploring topics such as bargaining in this economy, the importance of unionizing ethnic media, union involvement in alternative ownerships, and the need for training.

The national executive of the CMG has decided to send four members, in addition to those whose union positions require them to be at this conference.? If you’re interested in attending on behalf of the CMG, please contact a member of the national executive committee (listed below).? Please write100-150 words about how you’ve been involved in the Guild and why you’re interested in this conference.? Deadline:? Monday December 8, 8 p.m. ET? If you’re selected, the Guild will pay all expenses and arrange for your leave from work.

President – Lise Lareau – lise@cmg.ca
Vice-President – Scott Edmonds – tsedmonds@yahoo.ca
Secretary-Treasurer – Rick Basarke ? rick.basarke@cbc.ca
Director, Small Branches – Christopher Beesley – christopher@beesley.ca
Director, New Members – Brendan Elliott?- jrnlst@gmail.com
Director, Human Rights and Equity – Michael D’Souza – dsouzam@sympatico.ca
Director, Francophone Affairs – G?rard Malo – gerard_malo47@yahoo.ca
Director, Education ? Barbara Saxberg -?bsaxberg-nec@cmg.ca
APTN Branch President – Allan Mckay – pepsecola@hotmail.com
CBC Branch President – Marc Philippe Laurin – mplaurin@sympatico.ca
CBC Branch Vice-President – Elaine Janes – doubleej@hotmail.com
CBC Branch Treasurer – Ralph Legare – cdrlegare@sympatico.ca
CP Branch President – Terry Pedwell – tpedwell@hotmail.com
CP Branch Vice-President – Roger Ward – rogerward@sympatico.ca
CW Television Branch President – C. Masaaba Mwambu – mwambu1@yahoo.com
Freelance Branch President – Don Genova – freelance@cmg.ca
Reuters Branch President – Ka Yan Ng – kyngcan@gmail.com
S.VOX Branch President – Robert VanSickle – rob.vansickle@rogers.com
TVO/tfo Branch President – David Hawkins – davhawkins@yahoo.com

Find Member Resources

Popular Topics

Scroll to Top